Kerensa is the Chief Executive of Wakatū Incorporation, a hapū-owned organisation based in Whakatū (Nelson), which owns Kono NZ LP, an export food and beverage business; AuOra, focused on science and nutrition and Whenua, its land and property business. Committed to its 500 year intergenerational plan, Te Pae Tawhiti, Wakatū has an active social and cultural development arm which is committed to building whānau capability and innovation as well as achieving the Te Tau Ihu intergenerational strategy for the region, which includes constitutional reform.

Professor Pare Keiha (QSO, MSc, PhD, MBA, MComLaw, FRSA, MInstD, MRSNZ) Te Whānau-a-Taupara o T’Aitanga-a-Māhaki, and Rongowhakaata.  is the Pro Vice Chancellor for Māori Advancement, Dean of the Faculty of Culture and Society and Tumuaki of Te Ara Poutama, the Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Development, at the Auckland University of Technology.


Associate Professor Amokura Kawharu holds a BA/LLB (Hons) degree from the University of Auckland and an LLM with a major in international law from the University of Cambridge. She has worked as a practising lawyer and as an academic and is currently President of the New Zealand Law Commission.

Te Kawehau Hoskins affiliates to the people of Ngāti Hau in Whakapara, a community located north of the Whangārei district. She is the former HOS of Te Puna Wānanga, the school of Māori and Indigenous Education and Te Tumu-Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Education and Social Work. Te Kawehau has pursued an academic career in Māori education. She has further developed expertise in qualitative social and educational research, politics, ethics of Indigene, settler relations, and multicultural and bicultural education.

Scotty is well-known presenter of Māori current affairs programmes Te Karere and Marae Investigates. He holds a Diploma of Teaching, Bachelor of Education and Masters degree (Education) from the University of Waikato, is currently working towards his PhD at Massey University and was recently appointed as Associate Professor Massey University.

Che was raised in a large whānau in Ohakune at the foot of Koro Ruapehu. Che has had a varied career and had the rare experience of being Chair, CE and chief negotiator of his iwi, a Deputy Secretary for the Ministry for the Environment, was president of Te Pāti Māori and was initiated into his iwi whare wānanga prior to entering secondary school.

Erina Watene-Rawiri is an experienced governor and director having also served on Te Wai Maaori Trust, NZ Biological Heritage Science Challenge, Iwi, and not-for-profit boards; as well as many advisory groups (such as the New Zealand Fish Passage Advisory Group). Professionally, Erina is a freshwater scientist with a background in river and lake restoration, tāonga species research, resource management and environmental planning. She is experienced working at the interface between policy, mātauranga Māori, and science.

Deputy Vice Chancellor - Research

Professor Jim Metson graduated with PhD in Chemistry from Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand in 1980, before taking up a position at Surface Science Western, University of Western Ontario, Canada.

He then moved to the University of Auckland, New Zealand, where he has held several positions including a term as Associate Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research).